Browse Our Store Thousands of bargains just waiting for you today!

DevilDriver Feel Energised by Addition of D’Amond and Tiemann

DevilDriver frontman Dez Fafara says the band’s new members have added a much needed injection of energy into their seventh studio album.

The band release their latest offering, titled Trust No One, on May 13th via Napalm Records and Fafara says the contributions from drummer Austin D’Amond and guitarist Neal Tiemann were vital.

Fafara tells Distorted Sound: “I think when you have members that come in and want to be part of a project, that want to get on a midnight flight and play four hours later and they’re hungry, you can feel it.

“The only analogy I can give is that I know a hundred bands that tour together that hate each other. You can feel it. You can feel it backstage, you can feel it on the records, you can hear the record, and it may be touted as the best shit, and then I listen to the record, because I know the band, and I’m, like, ‘Huh, they hate each other.’ It’s fucking obvious.

“And I don’t want to be in one of those bands, so when you get new cats and it’s been a very long time since we’ve had new members in this band, you get that new feeling.”

D’Amond and Tiemann replaced John Boecklin and Jeff Kendrick, who left the group last year.

Fafara adds: “I feel that the drums are incredible. The kid really nailed it, and he has a sense of groove that undeniably is what DevilDriver is and what we needed.

“The main addition to the band would be Neal on guitar, and he basically replaced a departing member that had a lot of problems with other members due to lack of contributing to songs.

“The difference is that Neal came in with 12 songs. We let everyone come in with what they have, and the first song that we released, Daybreak, was Neal’s.”

DevilDriver Trust No One tracklist

1. Testimony Of Truth
2. Bad Deeds
3. My Night Sky
4. This Deception
5. Above It All
6. Daybreak
7. Trust No One
8. Feeling Ungodly
9. Retribution
10. For What It’s Worth

If you are on the lookout for a new acoustic guitar then check out one of the martin om-21 series.

people are talking about this